Final Preparatory Conference

Major breakthrough for IRENA's founding in early 2009

Over 50 states attended the intergovernmental Final Preparatory Conference for IRENA held from 23 to 24 October, 2008 in Madrid, Spain. About 150 representatives from industrialised and developing countries finalised discussions on IRENA's Statutes and thus paved the way for IRENA to be founded on 26 January 2009 in Bonn, Germany.


IRENA's Statutes design a lean and effective structure to fulfil the Agency's tasks and objectives. They further establish a solid financial basis for the Agency through mandatory and voluntary contributions. In order to act swiftly, participating states agreed on a resolution establishing a Preparatory Commission as an interim body of IRENA. The first meeting of the Preparatory Commission will take place on 27 January 2009, the day after the Founding Conference, and will ensure a rapid and effective start of the Agency. The participants of the Madrid Conference also agreed on procedures and criteria for selecting IRENA's Interim Director-General and interim headquarters which will guarantee transpareny and fairness.


Furthermore, general agreement was expressed on the scope of IRENA's initial activities. The work programme will be further developed between the Founding Conference and the second meeting of the Preparatory Commission in June 2009. In line with discussions on preceding preparatory meetings emphasis will be placed on providing, upon request, policy advice for national governments, facilitating technology transfer and capacity building. The Agency will work in close coordination with other related international organisations, thereby creating synergies.

Germany has been designated as depositary and will take the next steps in the founding process. In this context, it will circulate legally reviewed documents to all participating countries, together with the invitations to the Founding Conference and the first meetings of the Preparatory Commission in Bonn and will send the respective documents to all UN Member States.